UEU-co logo

ch09lev1sec3.html


Previous Page Next Page

Creating Groups

Domain-level groups are created in Active Directory, using the Active Directory Users and Computers snap-in. After groups are created, you can add users or other groups to them.

Open the Active Directory Users and Computers snap-in (select Start, point at Administrative Tools, and then select Active Directory Users and Computers or open the snap-in in the Server Manager). To view the default domain user groups, expand the domain node and then select the Users container. The default groups (and users) appear in the Details pane.

To create a new group, follow these steps:

1. Right-click below the current groups in the Details pane. On the shortcut menu point at New and then select Group. The New Object – Group dialog box appears (see Figure 9.3).

Figure 9.3. The New Object – Group dialog box.

Did you Know?

When you run a snap-in such as the Active Directory Users and Computers snap-in in the Server Manager, all the actions (commands) related to the current snap-in can be accessed via the Actions pane on the right.

2. Type a name for the new group. This name is duplicated (or shortened) and placed in the pre–Windows 2000 name box automatically.

3. Choose the scope for the new group by clicking the appropriate option button: Domain Local, Global, or Universal.

4. Choose the group type (security or distribution) by clicking the appropriate option button (you are likely to be working exclusively with security group types when you are creating groups related to rights or abilities in the domain).

5. When you have finished setting the parameters for the new group, click OK to close the dialog box and complete the creation of the new group.

The new group appears in the Users container (you can see it in the Details pane). You can create groups in other containers. For example, you might want to create a group that is in an Organizational Unit container. Organizational Units are discussed later in the hour.

You can just as easily delete groups. Deleting is actually easier. Right-click a group in the Details pane and select Delete from the shortcut menu. Click OK to go ahead with the deletion. When you delete the group, users who were members of the group are not deleted, but those users lose any privileges that they were afforded to resources as a result of their membership in that particular group.

Previous Page Next Page

Leave a Reply


Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Categories

apply_now Pepperstone Group Limited