UEU-co logo


Previous Page Next Page


In this hour, we took a look at issues related to defining your network infrastructure using the Microsoft domain model. The administrative container for Microsoft server-based networks is the domain. A collection of domains resides in a tree. Each tree has a root domain; the other domains in the tree are child domains of the root. All the domains in a tree share transitive trusts, meaning that resources in any of the tree’s domains are available to the users in the tree. A group of domain trees is called a forest.

Servers on the network serve specific roles. For example, the domain requires at least one domain controller. Files are made available to users by a file server, and print services are provided by a print server. A single server can serve multiple roles, but this greatly depends on the size of the network and the number of roles a single server is required to fill.

Windows Server 2008 divides most server roles, services, and other utilities into one of two categories: roles or features. The server role category includes obvious server roles such as domain controllers and file servers, and it also includes network services such as DNS and DHCP. Network services designated as features include Terminal Services, WINS and Rremote Access and Routing.

You can view and add roles and features by using the Initial Configuration Tasks window. The Server Manager enables you to view and manage server roles and features and also to add or remove roles and features as needed. You can start the Server Manager from the Start menu (Start, Administrative Tools, Server Manager). The Server Manager can also be started quickly from the icon on the Quick Launch toolbar.

Previous Page Next Page

Leave a Reply

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.


apply_now Pepperstone Group Limited